Visit Children’s Hospital Through The Eyes of a Child

October 2, 2009 at 4:23 pm Leave a comment

A big part of my job at BC Children’s Hospital Foundation is working with families who want to help give back to Children’s. I am always looking for new ways to help them share their courageous journeys with others in their community, so I am very excited to share with all of you a new project one of our teen supporters is working on.

Paige017

Thirteen-year-old Paige Roper is an incredible girl with a captivating story. I think she is more eloquent and comfortable with public speaking that most adults, and she jumped at the chance last year to help host our Miracle Weekend telethon on Global BC. Most recently, she agreed to be our Sunshine Club Ambassador, to help promote monthly giving to BC Children’s Hospital. One of the ways she is getting out the word is through a new blog, www.bcchfdrm.wordpress.com. Here is a snippet of her first submission…

Paige: The Coles Notes of My Story

Hi everyone, my name is Paige. In November 2006, I came down with what seemed like a nasty flu that I just couldn’t shake. On December 8, 2006 one of my eyes started to turn inward, so my family doctor made arrangements for me to be seen at BC Children’s Hospital.

Within just a few hours of arriving at Children’s, I had been examined by the Emergency physician, a neurologist, an ophthalmologist, and a neurosurgeon. I also underwent a series of blood tests, a CT Scan, and an MRI. Later that night, I was diagnosed with a malignant germ cell tumour in the third quadrant of my brain….I am glad to say that I am in remission, and living the life of a happy, grateful, 13 year old girl. Thanks to BC Children’s Hospital, their amazing doctors, nurses, and staff, and your donations, I am alive and well, thriving, and making plans for my future.

Please stay with me over the next couple of months so I can explain a little more about my journey through cancer and how your support is helping thousands of other children like me with their fights.

Entry filed under: Super Community.

Supporting Children’s Hospital in Memory of her Little Angel Schools-with-Social-Consciousness Competition

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate Now

Support BC Kids and donate to BC Children's Hospital: www.bcchf.ca/donateNow

Support Us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

BCCHF Event Photos

More Photos

