Paige: The Day I Found Out I Had Cancer

October 13, 2009 at 7:00 am Leave a comment

Paige018One day that will stand out in my mind forever is the day I was told I had cancer.  After running the necessary tests, the doctors and two nurses came into my emergency room and sat my family down all together to break the news.  I will never forget the look on my mother’s face as she looked down at me with tear filled eyes and told me she was so sorry and would give anything to trade places with me.  That image and the thought of losing her, filled me with an instant panic, and I told her it would be much harder on me if I had to watch her battle cancer.

At first my mom was in total shock that they had broken the news to us the way they did.  She expected them to take her and my dad aside and tell them alone.  Then when she thought about it, she told me that she owed Children’s Hospital and those doctors and nurses the world of thanks.  They had taken on the horrible chore of having to look in my eyes and tell me themselves.  She said it would have been the hardest thing in the world to do and it would have crushed her. 

After my diagnosis had sunk in, I felt like I was in a whirlwind.  I had so many emotions and questions running rampant inside me.  It was as though I had lost control of my life, my emotions, and myself.  All I could think was, “How could this happen to me?”, and I wondered if it could be cured.  I was very aware that there was the possibility that I could die.  I was in total shock and disbelief.  I had everything a child could ever want, and now it was being taken away from me.  Fortunately I didn’t stay in that frame of mind for long before I decided I wasn’t going to stand by and have my life taken away from me so easily.  I was going to fight.  My journey began…

Entry filed under: Paige. Tags: , , .

Take Care of Yourself This Fall! Don’t forget to submit your Super Kid nominations

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate Now

Support BC Kids and donate to BC Children's Hospital: www.bcchf.ca/donateNow

Support Us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

BCCHF Event Photos

More Photos

