Paige: School Doesn’t Have to Stop When You’re Sick!

November 17, 2009 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

Paige018I’m not your typical teenager in the sense that I truly love school.  I’m not afraid of hard work, and take pride in my accomplishments.  My mom tells me I set my goals extremely high, and sometimes she worries that I put too much pressure on myself.  I really don’t see it as pressure; I just love to get top grades.

When I was diagnosed with cancer, I was concerned that I would fail my grade 5 year.  The school year was only 3 months in when I could no longer attend.  My parents made arrangements with my elementary school to pick up my work load every week, and drop off the completed work once a week as well.  I knew it was going to be difficult to do my schooling without a teacher for instruction and guidance.  My mom did a great job of explaining most things.  I was staying on track but I really missed going to school and being with my friends.

One day while in hospital for treatments, one of the school teachers at BC Children’s Hospital came to my room.  He explained that there was a classroom in the next ward where I could attend class and the teachers on hand could assist me with my lessons.  He also said that if I wasn’t well enough to attend class, he could arrange for a teacher to come to my room.

I went down to the Schoolroom several times when I was in care.  Jack and Lorri, the teachers at BC Children’s Hospital, were amazing.  It was really helpful to have teachers available to assist me with my schoolwork instead of having to struggle with it on my own.  Having a classroom at the hospital also provided me with a sense of normalcy and comfort.

At the end of the school year, I stopped in to see Jack and Lorri and show them my straight “A” report card.  They were sincerely interested in how I had done and even posted a copy in the school room.

I am very grateful that BC Children’s Hospital provides children like me with an opportunity to continue our education through School Services.  I have since completed grade 6, skipped grade 7, and started grade 8 a year early.  Recently, we had our awards ceremony and I am proud to say I received 8 academic achievement awards.  On my next visit in to Children’s, I will be sure to visit Jack and Lorri and share the good news.

Entry filed under: Paige. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Paige: Tragic Losses Hello From a Foundation Staff Contributor

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate Now

Support BC Kids and donate to BC Children's Hospital: www.bcchf.ca/donateNow

Support Us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

BCCHF Event Photos

More Photos

