Paige: Behind the Scenes at Miracle Weekend

November 24, 2009 at 1:01 am Leave a comment

Paige018Through my journey with cancer, I was fortunate to share my story with many children, adults, and organizations.  Having this opportunity was not only therapeutic for me, but also gave me something positive to focus on.  I guess it was my way of taking a bad thing and turning it into something good.

I was very privileged to be asked to participate in two Miracle Weekend Telethons at BC Children’s Hospital.  It was a lot of fun, and I am very grateful to have been a small part of such an amazing event.

Miracle Weekend 2009

Just in case you are curious, yes, the Global TV News staff are as wonderful  as they appear to be.

BC Children’s Hospital staff, Foundation staff, and Global TV staff made me feel like a real part of the team.  It was important to me to be able to be involved with Miracle Weekend.  Having been through treatments at the hospital, I know how imperative the services they provide there really are.  I hoped that having the opportunity to share my experiences at Children’s Hospital would help raise awareness and support.

Many of my friends at school have asked me why I am still so involved and connected to BC Children’s Hospital.  That is an easy question for me to answer.  I am alive today because of BC Children’s Hospital, their amazing doctors, nurses, staff, and all of the generous people like you who continue to support them.  Quite honestly, the staff at BC Children’s Hospital are my extended family.  I am a lifer there, and will continue to have follow-up appointments and treatment for the rest of my life.  I am also committed to doing what I can to give hope and raise awareness, and will continue to be connected to the Hospital in any way I can.

Entry filed under: Paige. Tags: , , , , , .

Notes from the Hospital Schoolroom BC Children’s Wins Quality & Safety Award

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate Now

Support BC Kids and donate to BC Children's Hospital: www.bcchf.ca/donateNow

Support Us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

BCCHF Event Photos


