Paige: It’s Important to Have a Hospital for Kids

December 1, 2009 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

Paige018Until I was diagnosed with cancer, I really had no idea of what went on at BC Children’s Hospital.  After having been through treatments, I can’t express enough how grateful I am to have a hospital like BC Children’s Hospital.  I know adults who have been ill, or are battling cancer.  They have spoken to me often, and shared with me the knowledge that they are worried and scared for their lives.  I know exactly what they mean.  If adults are scared you can just imagine how we as children are feeling.  I can’t imagine going through treatments in a hospital for adults, in an adult environment.

If you’ve ever been in Children’s Hospital, you will have noticed that it is totally geared towards children.  It is bright and colourful, cheerful, and child friendly.  It is a lot less intimidating for children who are sent there for care.  Nurses wear uniforms that have cartoon and Disney characters on them and they are not as formal.  It is an environment that is meant to put children at ease. 

BC Children’s Hospital has all the services a child needs.  It is set up to treat kids of every age and helps them physically as well as emotionally.  It provides children the opportunity to keep up their school work as well as other forms of therapy such as music and art therapy.  When I was in care I even got to have a few sessions with a child psychologist.  All the doctors and nurses are specialized to treat children and are very good at dealing with us. 

One very important thing that BC Children’s Hospital provides that is not allowed at other hospitals is that they ensure every child can have one parent to room in with them.  I can’t tell you how valuable and necessary it was for me to be able to have my mom with me at my side for all my treatments.  I was really scared and worried and having my mom with me made my hospital stays more bearable and less terrifying.  If you were to have a critically ill child, would you want them treated anywhere else?  I know I wouldn’t.  I would want my child to have the best possible care, and that is at BC Children’s Hospital.

Entry filed under: Paige.

Festival of Trees Opens in Vancouver Thankful Mom Shares Her Daughter’s Medical Journey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate Now

Support BC Kids and donate to BC Children's Hospital: www.bcchf.ca/donateNow

Support Us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

BCCHF Event Photos

More Photos

