Paige: Christmas Wish for a World Without Cancer

December 15, 2009 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

Paige018My fight with childhood cancer has proven to be quite a journey so far.  With my present so dramatically changed, it also sent a ripple effect into my future.  There is a great deal of uncertainty I have to face, but don’t we all!  I just have a few extra cards stacked against me.  The game’s not over yet. 

 I have learned a lot in the past couple of years.  I have endured even more.  Though I have sustained some physical and emotional damage, I would like to think that in many ways I emerged as a stronger, more aware individual.  My plans for the future changed along with everything else.  I had different career goals in mind as well as personal goals I wanted to achieve.  I learned that cancer can touch any one of us at any time.  No one is immune, no one is exempt.  Cancer isn’t picky. 

Through my journey with cancer, I learned to fight the fight, stay positive, never give up hope, and never lose faith.  I choose to see the beauty in everything, and see each day as a precious gift, never to be taken for granted.  Life can change in the blink of an eye.  I don’t want to miss a thing.  I want no regrets.

It is for these reasons that I made a promise to myself that I would do my part in the fight to find the cure.  I would continue to do my fundraising, raise awareness, and hopefully bring hope to families going through a similar ordeal.  I am hoping that my story will help enlighten others of what it is like for children struggling through a life threatening illness.  I wanted other children to know and take comfort in the knowledge that they are not alone.  It is my wish that my story will raise even a little awareness of the incredibly brave child warriors in our midst.

I would also like people to know how incredible BC Children’s Hospital and staff are.  I for one would not be alive today without their expertise.  It is my sincere hope that people will see how essential BC Children’s Hospital is and how important it is to keep the amazing calibre of doctors on staff.  With the growing number of children being treated there, funding is always an issue.  In order to keep up with the new technology and the need for more space, more funding is necessary.

This will be my last blog as Christmas is right around the corner.  I spent one Christmas and New Years at BC Children’s Hospital so my thoughts and heart are with all the children in hospital this Christmas season.  I live my life with hope in my heart.  Hope for a world where all children can play.  Hope for a world where children are not robbed of their childhoods.  Hope for a world where children and adults alike no longer fear the word cancer.  Hope for a world where cancer no longer exists. I guess that is my Christmas wish this year.  Thanks for following along, and thank you for all your support to BC Children’s Hospital and helping to save the lives of children just like me.  A Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

Love,

Paige

Entry filed under: Paige.

Finlay’s Story Holiday Tea

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate Now

Support BC Kids and donate to BC Children's Hospital: www.bcchf.ca/donateNow

Support Us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

BCCHF Event Photos


