BC Children’s Hospital Through the Eyes of an Intern

April 1, 2010 at 4:31 pm Leave a comment

As a communications student from BCIT, I applied for an internship here at BC Children’s Hospital Foundation to gain experience and to give back to a foundation that affected me so deeply. My son, who turns three in October, spent 10 days at BC Children’s Hospital one week after being born. Three of those days he spent on a ventilator in the ICU. The care and specialized treatment he received from talented teams of doctors and nurses made volunteering my time here a no-brainer.

After only a week and a half into my internship, I had been all over the Hospital tagging along on in-depth personal interviews with patients and their families from all regions of BC being treated for a variety of injuries and illnesses. I met cancer patients whose positivity outshined anyone I have ever met. I met a patient with scoliosis who was making plans to go bungee jumping after recovering from spine surgery. And I met parents who, like me, were sick with worry and uncertainty, but at the same time ecstatic that they were able to stay close to their child.

The combination of experiences I have had show me a hospital that goes far beyond the state-of-the-art treatments and equipment; beyond talented teams of medical professionals. It is a hospital that truly offers togetherness, family and a home away from home. Through the generosity of others, Children’s Hospital is able to give families a chance for a better quality of life and an opportunity to enjoy all the miraculous things children bring into our homes.

I look forward to sharing more of my sights and experiences with you in my two-month internship at the Foundation. I also hope to hear stories from you about how BC Children’s Hospital has supported your family and friends. I am heading out soon to spend Easter with my little family and watch my son frantically search for Easter treats. Oh, how he loves treats! Best wishes to you and your family and have a very happy, healthy long weekend.

Entry filed under: At the Hospital, Michael.

Speaking of Children – Spring Edition now available! Calling All Artists – Help Us Design a New ChildRun T-shirt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate Now

Support BC Kids and donate to BC Children's Hospital: www.bcchf.ca/donateNow

Support Us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

BCCHF Event Photos


